Pages

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Interview with Best-Selling Author Blake Crouch

Name of the book: RUN

Kindle Price: $2.99

Available from:Amazon Kindle US, Amazon Kindle UK, Smashwords, Nook, Createspace, Kobo, Diesel

Authors Website: www.blakecrouch.com

Bio:

BLAKE CROUCH is the author of DESERT PLACES, LOCKED DOORS, SNOWBOUND, and ABANDON, which was an IndieBound Notable Selection, all published by St. Martin's Press. Blake's latest thriller, RUN, his first indie release, hit the Amazon Top 50.

His short fiction has appeared in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, Thriller 2, Shivers VI, Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, and other anthologies.

In 2009, he co-wrote "Serial" with JA Konrath, which has been downloaded over 500,000 times and topped the Kindle bestseller list for 4 weeks. That story and ABANDON have also been optioned for film. He is currently at work with JA Konrath on the novel STIRRED, the conclusion to his Andrew Z. Thomas series. Blake lives in Colorado. His website is www.blakecrouch.com.


Tell me about your book?

For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Thomas Harris, picture this: a landscape of American genocide...

5 D A Y S A G O
A rash of bizarre murders swept the country…
Senseless. Brutal. Seemingly unconnected.
A cop walked into a nursing home and unloaded his weapons on elderly and staff alike.
A mass of school shootings.
Prison riots of unprecedented brutality.
Mind-boggling acts of violence in every state.

4 D A Y S A G O
The murders increased ten-fold…

3 D A Y S A G O
The President addressed the nation and begged for calm and peace…

2 D A Y S A G O
The killers began to mobilize…

Y E S T E R D A Y
All the power went out…

T O N I G H T
They’re reading the names of those to be killed on the Emergency Broadcast System. You are listening over the battery-powered radio on your kitchen table, and they’ve just read yours.

Your name is Jack Colclough. You have a wife, a daughter, and a young son. You live in Albuquerque, New Mexico. People are coming to your house to kill you and your family. You don’t know why, but you don’t have time to think about that any more.

You only have time to….

R U N



What will readers like about your book?

I hope the intensity of the pacing, the realism, and most of all, that they fall in love with the characters.


What inspired you to write this particular story?

A simple question that popped into my mind a couple years ago....what would an American genocide look like?


When did you start writing?

8 years old.


When did you realize that you were a serious writer?

When I was a senior in high school and set out to write my first novel.


Why did you choose this particular genre to write your book in?

Because these are the types of books that I love to read.


What is your writing process?

I will typically try to hit 1000 words per day. When I have those 1000, I'll take a break, and then read through them again. Usually, I find that I've merely sketched out the scene and I'll go back in and bring more detail. I do this for several months until I have a first draft. Then I share it with a few trusted friends to get their take.


How long does it take you to write your first draft?

About 4 months, give or take.


Why did you publish on Kindle and other eReaders?

At first, just as an experiment to see what would happen, and as a way to get my short stories to a wider audience. Now...because it gives the writer complete and total control.


What kind of advice would you like to share with an aspiring writer who’s looking to publish a book for the first time?

Read a lot, write a lot, rinse, repeat. There's truly no secret other than immersing yourself in the consumption and creation of the written word.

No comments:

Post a Comment